Color craving

I like winter.  Really, I do.  Even here in the PNW when it’s not really winter but a long, drawn out season of cloud and wet and mud.  But I have to say that this year I find myself experiencing something completely new.  I am craving color.

I haven’t been here before.  I find myself wanting to purchase fresh flowers at the grocery store to have on my dining table.  I now understand the rows upon rows of candy-colored primroses that appear in stores in February.  And I have given in to the urge to put some brightness by my front door.

I think the problem is that last year was the Year of the Veggie Bed in my gardening life.  I didn’t put any new energy into my flowers, annuals, or borders.  I wanted to expand my gardening horizons, and I enjoyed it.  I am excited to pick out my seeds and commit my crop placement for the year, and start the cycle of summer edibles all over again.  But, I miss flowers.  I want color.  So, since not as much labor need be put into new beds this year, I plan to put renewed energy into my borders.  I’m looking forward to re-edging, and planting a new rose.  I’m anticipating being able to get a grip on blackspot this year and certainly crossing my fingers that we have a warmer and dryer spring so that I get to enjoy some roses from bushes that are finally established in their “new” home.  I envision masses of color in my plain, evergreen-based front yard–hot reds and yellows to stoke my fires.  I can’t wait to assemble my hanging baskets for the deck, and I’m even planning for next fall, when I will load up borders with daffodils and other early bulbs to bring some life to my borders just a little sooner.

Maybe part of the problem with my color craving is that I’ve just completed knitting a beautiful, luxurious, soft, alpaca-blend scarf…..that is brown and grey.  The yarn is luscious, absolutely, but my foray into “scarfland” through the month of February has left me feeling a bit color-starved.   I think that to get myself through the remainder of March, my next knitting projects need to bring the garden in….in full, living color.

About Ilana M Calvert

I have a Master's degree in Environmental Horticulture, but I spend my time pursuing fiber arts--weaving, knitting, and spinning. Occasionally I dabble in Scottish-style fiddle playing. Most importantly, I am a wife and a "mom" to a beautiful Great Dane.
This entry was posted in Gardening, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

