A win-win situation

In late May, when I was finally able to get out and get some garden work done, I gambled.  Peas are a surefire crop here.  The advice, though, is to have them sown in late March.  In mid-March I had selected 2 varieties of peas to try, “Tall Telephone” and “Green Arrow”.  I had envisioned sowing them in the former vine bed along our back chain link fence, where they could climb to their hearts’ content, have the north-south orientation they would like, and they would help improve the soil.  With the spring the way it was, however, I wasn’t able to prep that bed until May.  And by then, I had visited the Seattle Tilth plant sale and picked out not one, not two, but 6 tomato plants to try.  Wait, a clarification.  I picked out 5.  My husband picked out a random one that called to him, bringing our total to 6.

Anyway, the only bed with enough room was the former vine bed, which left the former tomato bed as the only place left for peas.  And in late May I thought, ‘What the heck’?  I figured it was a win-win.  Either planting them would guarantee a nice long summer, which was good.  Or the weather would continue to be fickle and I could enjoy some fresh-from-the-garden peas.

Well, we all know how this is turning out.  Our beginning of summer has been, well, weird.  And the peas have thrived.  Just 2 weeks ago I noticed the first blooms, and already there are long pods forming.  Backlit by the morning sun, they were a welcome sight on this Monday morning.

I’m not a gambler, but I do love a sure thing.

About Ilana M Calvert

I have a Master's degree in Environmental Horticulture, but I spend my time pursuing fiber arts--weaving, knitting, and spinning. Occasionally I dabble in Scottish-style fiddle playing. Most importantly, I am a wife and a "mom" to a beautiful Great Dane.
This entry was posted in Edibles, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

