Foxy ‘Foxley’

In my view, home isn’t home and my cooking isn’t cooking until I have my own herb garden sitting out my back door.  When my husband and I moved here, getting herbs started (in March, no less) was a high garden priority.

Now, if you happen to live in the Seattle area, then you know that finding what you want at any nursery or garden center in March can be a tough proposition.  Well, I was an innocent.  My husband had a tip on a nursery from a fellow at work and one weekend we went exploring.  At the nursery I had only one goal in mind–herbs for my deck planter.  Rosemary, true oregano, sage, french tarragon, and thyme.  I had to ask about the thyme, because there wasn’t any in the herb display, and all I could find was a fancy variegated on in the groundcover section….which was the one the woman who helped me led me to.

“Oh, yes, it’s decorative but it can indeed be used for culinary purposes”, she assured me.  And this is how Thyme ‘Foxley’ was brought home.

I have to say, this guy is a delight.  This plant is a goer, like most herbs when given when they like–soil that is not too rich and kept on the dry side with plenty of sunshine.  I cut sprigs frequently through the growing season for use in the kitchen and the flavor is pleasant and fresh.  The main thing, though, is just how plain pretty this plant is, especially in midsummer when the new growth erupts with tall, pale violet flower clusters that bloom from the bottom up.  Sunshine playing on the leaves, bees in the flowers, and flavor in my cooking pot.  ‘Foxley’, you light up my life!

About Ilana M Calvert

I have a Master's degree in Environmental Horticulture, but I spend my time pursuing fiber arts--weaving, knitting, and spinning. Occasionally I dabble in Scottish-style fiddle playing. Most importantly, I am a wife and a "mom" to a beautiful Great Dane.
This entry was posted in Edibles, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

