Readings and Meditations

“Weeding is not a duty; it’s a way of life–a practice, like meditation.  If you have a goal in a garden, you’re doomed.”

I just finished reading Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life by Brian Brett.  Excellent, excellent book.  I couldn’t put it down.  I highly recommend–actually, insist on it–to anyone who agrees with any of the following statments:

I am scared about where humankind is headed.  I believe that to either create or produce something is at the heart of being human.  I know that I cannot change the world, but I want to be empowered to make changes, even if small, in my world.  I marvel at the breadth and mystery of life, and believe that the acceptance of mystery without the need for explanation is the definition of faith.  Sometimes I feel that the world is hurtling onward faster and faster, and I want off the train.  In one minute I can be nearly in tears at the devastation that humankind has left in its wake, and in the next I can be in near ecstasy at the pure simplicity of a moment in nature–not doing, just being.

Cultivate your garden.  Allow beauty to be perfection enough.  Find the journey to be the end in itself.  And get yourself to the library to read this book.

About Ilana M Calvert

I have a Master's degree in Environmental Horticulture, but I spend my time pursuing fiber arts--weaving, knitting, and spinning. Occasionally I dabble in Scottish-style fiddle playing. Most importantly, I am a wife and a "mom" to a beautiful Great Dane.
This entry was posted in Books, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

